PM Society Digital Media Awards – winners announced

Last night saw the PM Society Digital Media Awards 2013, where the pharma industry celebrated an increased and innovative integration of digital into marketing strategies. Comedian Dara O’Briain led the ceremony in London, which is now in its fifth year, and kept the audience well amused with anecdotes related to his wife’s work as a doctor.

Independent communications agency Ruder Finn and creative marketing shop Digitas Health won the most recognition in the awards, taking home three winning trophies each. Havas Lynx and Radical Departures were close behind, each scooping two wins and Atlantis Healthcare, Aurora, DDB Remedy,, Langland, Message Dynamics, Story Worldwide and Swordfish / Incuna were also celebrating as they each picked up a winning gong.

Out of the pharmaceutical companies, Novartis Vaccines and Diagnostics came top of the leader board securing a total of four wins for two campaigns from two agencies. AstraZeneca Global was a close second with two of its agencies / campaigns scoring a total of three wins. Janssen was notable for achieving 11 finalist entries and a commended across five brands and three patient programmes.

The Digital Pioneer Award of the night went to GSK’s Kai Gait, while the Digital Project / Account Management went to Aurora’s Gill Dunn.

“This year has seen consolidation in the higher quality, a raft of entries in the new social media category and far greater integration across the board in multi-channel campaigns strategies. On areas for development, I would still encourage more entrants to think SMART (objectives), because despite the weighting in the judging criteria, we don’t see enough of it!”

Carwyn Jones, PM Society Digital Interest Group lead and chair of the Digital Media Awards.

“There has definitely been progression from last year in terms of linking strong digital delivery to clear and specific objectives, which campaigns are measured against. The pharma industry is finding its feet with digital.”

Paul Tunnah, CEO of pharmaphorum media and member of the judging panel.

Over 150 entries in 16 different categories were reviewed by over 40 judges in a rigorous two-stage process before the event.


Reference links:

The full results are available at

Don't miss your daily pharmaphorum news.
SUBSCRIBE free here.