Pharma winners celebrate at PM Society Digital Media Awards

Novartis beat off Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, Genentech (Roche), GlaxoSmithKline and Sanofi to take the first ever Digital Pharmaceutical Company of the Year Award at the PM Society Digital Media Awards last night, based on the breadth and depth of their social media engagement, as measured by Symplur.

The sixth annual event also featured a fresh new format, including educational content from LinkedIn, iPad stations showcasing finalists’ work and a Tweet Wall.

Agencies McCann Manchester and Red Door Communications won most recognition on the night, each scooping two Gold awards and McCann Manchester also took home a Bronze. Emotive achieved a Gold, two Silvers and a Bronze, Langland walked away with a Gold and a Silver and RFA Advertising and Marketing a Gold and a Bronze. M3 with MSA Media and Rainmaker, nitrogen, go digital health (part of Virgo Health), Cherry, Real Science and Inspired Science each took home a Gold. Year on year, the results represent a much wider spread of successful agencies.

Client-side, Shire Pharmaceuticals and the World Hepatitis Alliance led, with two Golds each. Others taking home one win each were Rosemount Pharmaceuticals, AstraZeneca, Roche, SPMSD, Actavis+Warner Chilcott, Novo Nordisk, Takeda, Galderma and Bayer Healthcare.


Actavis + Warner Chilcott won Gold for the Assure Patient Support Programme

Best digital project or account manager went to Rebeka Morley from Health iQ and this year, the prestigious Digital Pioneer Award was given to Adam Boucher from Novo Nordisk.

Digital Awards lead and co-chair of the PM Society, Rachel Farrow, said, “The two-stage judging process for the Digital Awards is possibly unparalleled in its rigour and it is rewarding this year to be recognising excellence from a far broader spread of winning agencies. Several campaigns were truly innovative and exciting and demonstrate real progress in digital for pharma.

“Importantly, we also saw more clients accompanying agencies to the second round judging this year and those presenting were noticeably better prepared for the questions and time constraints on the day.”

Judging takes place in a two-stage process with online submissions shortlisted to finalists who then present in person to judges for 10 minutes and answer questions for five. A total of 45 judges attended second-round judging and reviewed 73 finalist entries across 17 categories.

Full details of entries and winners are available here.


Rewarding the best in digital innovation

Don't miss your daily pharmaphorum news.
SUBSCRIBE free here.